Technology

Link to the Tech Talk - Sept. 5, 2018. 

Technology in District 29


Technology at Sunset Ridge School District 29 is infused across all disciplines. All students are equipped with an iPad or Chromebook, all classrooms are equipped with Interactive Flat Panels or Epson interactive whiteboards, and all classrooms have Epson document cameras. From kindergarten through eighth grade, students experience technology integrated lessons that foster creativity, critical thinking, information literacy and global communication.

Beginning in kindergarten, one-to-one iPads provide an avenue for exploration and interaction as students drill and practice, learn to spell, print, draw and compose, read and listen, record and recite, question and answer, drag and drop, map and calculate, chart and format, type and revise.

Beginning in third grade, students begin using a 1:1 Chromebook to develop typing and trackpad skills, use full productivity tools, and explore the internet. Starting in fourth grade, students can take their device home which promotes the responsible use of technology and allows them to utilize technology to complete their homework or explore on their own.

Each student utilizes his/her device to access unlimited opportunities for developing and fine-tuning 21st century skills.
techmore techtech in 8throbotsrobots in 8throbotics competition

Technology Team

Sheri Styczen
Director of Technology
styczens@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9458

Brian Thiel
Network Manager
thielb@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9451

Oscar Garcia 
Data & Technology Coach
garciao@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9452

Lauren Gray (SRS)
Librarian/Media Specialist
grayl@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9449

Kellie Johnson (MFS)
Librarian/Media Specialist
johnsonk@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9531

Matt Bell
Building Technician (SRS)
bellm1@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9406

Pam Levitt
Building Technician (MFS)
levittp@sunsetridge29.org
847.881.9533
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.